Glory Years

2015/16 All-Ireland Junior B Hurling Champions:

Sunday June 26th will be a day that lives long in the memories of supporters, followers, management and players of Shanballymore GAA club near and far. It will go down as the day we became All Ireland Junior B hurling champions after a titanic battle against Tynagh Abbey Duniry from Galway on a score line of Shanballymore 0-17 Tynagh Abbey Duniry 1-12.

Click HERE to read the match report.

2015/16 Munster Junior B Hurling Champions:

It took a replay to be crowned Munster Champions when we defeated Eire Og Annacarty on a score line of 0:14 to 1:09. The drawn game finished Shanballymore 1:12  Eire Og Annacarty 2:09

2015 County Junior B Hurling Champions:

2015 was a historic year in the history of Shanballymore GAA club. We defeated Bantry Blues on a score-line of 1-15 points to 1-13 to be crowned Junior B County Hurling Champions.

2015 North Cork Hurling Champions:

We defeated Killavullen on a score-line of 0-14 points to 1-04 to be crowned Junior B North Cork Hurling Champions.

2015 North Cork Football Champions:

We defeated Grange on a score-line of 0-15 points to 0-05 to be crowned Junior B North Cork Football Champions.

2015 County Junior B Hurling League:

We defeated Ballinhassig on a score-line of 1-14 points to 1-07 to be crowned County Junior B Hurling  League Champions.

County League

2012 North Cork Football Champions:

In 2012 a gap of 23 years was bridged when we defeated Grange on a score-line of 0-10 points to 1-2 to be crowned Junior B North Cork Football Champions.

2009,2011 & 2014 North Cork Under-21 Hurling &Football Champions:

Shanballymore has seen great success on the playing field with our U21 teams in recent years. Following on from the clubs first title in 1992 , we have won the double in both hurling and football, in 2009, 2011 & again this year (2014) combining with Castletownroche under the Mill Rovers name. We are hoping that this is a sign of good things to come in the future.

Avondhu Junior Hurling Division 2 LeagueChampions 2007:

1996 & 1997 North Cork Hurling Champions:

1996 & 1997 were magical years for the club winning back to back Junior A championships, defeating Dromina in 96 &  Kilworth in 97

1989 North Cork Football Champions:

On September 10th 1989 Shanballymore were crowned Junior B Football Champions over Kilworth on the score-line of 0-12 to 0-6. The team was as follows: John Morrissey, Michael Fitzgibbion, Eddie Fitzgerald, John Waslhe, Fergal Barry, Michael Sheedy(captain), Tommy Lenihan, Tim Healy, Donie Curtain, Pa Sheedy, Ned Finn, Brian Barry, Eddie Roche, Pat O’Flynn, Peter O’Donovan, Subs: Ian Mellerick, Johnny Burke, Martain Burke, Paul Burke, John V. Burke, Tom O’Flynn

Junior B Football Champions 1989

Junior B Football Champions 1989

1983 Junior B Hurling Champions:

The title was collected at the expense of Ballyhooley, this game was played in Kilworth.

1965 Junior B Hurling Champions:

This victory was recorded in the Final against Hazelwood at Doneraile.

1951 Intermediate Hurling Champions:

On October 1st, 1951, Shanballymore returned to winning ways when Midleton were defeated in the Final of the Intermediate Hurling Championship on the score line of 2-06 to 1-04. The Final was played in Fermoy. The team was as follow: P. Fahy, M. O’Regan, P. O’Keeffe. T. Higgins, D. Curtain, W. Holton, J. Mannix, W. Fahy, W. Grifin, O. McAuliffe, T. Vaughan, D. Griffin, T. Donovan, L, Fahy, D. Lehane.

1951 Intermediate Champions

1951 Intermediate Champions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s