The 2018 AGM of Shanballymore GAA took place on Friday November 30 in Shanballymore Community Centre.

The meeting was well attended and it heard and saw a comprehensive report on the year’s activities. Chairman Kenneth Barry welcomed the members and got proceedings underway with a detailed chairman’s report.

Our Secretary Noreen Burke produced a thorough account of all the happenings in our club during the past year both on and off the field. The highlight of this was our first appearance in the North Cork Junior A Hurling Championship Final since 1997.

After a defeat to Ballygiblin in the final we advanced to the County Championship with a victory over Valley Roves and eventually losing out to County and Munster Champions Cloughduv in the last eight. Even with no silverware on the table this was huge progress for this bunch of players and with momentum high the future is bright.


Mary O’Regan Club Treasurer went through a report of the income and expenditures of the club, and highlighted the many vital sources of fundraising income essential to run the club yearly and thanked all for their support during the year.

The agenda proceeded to elect the club officers for 2019, our president Ted Fouhy took the chair for the election, the following are the officers representing our club in 2019:

President: Ted Fouhy.
Vice Presidents: Bro John Burke, Sean Hannon, Michael O’Donovan, Fr Pat Ryall, Michael Burke, Pat Walsh, Jerry Sheedy, Davy Sheedy, Bobby Sheedy, Tom Palmer, Jimmy Ryan, Dan Roche & John Murphy.

Chairman: Eddie Fitzgerald
Vice Chairman: John Murphy

Secretary: Noreen Burke.
Vice Secretary: Brian O’Regan.

Treasurer: Mary O’Regan
Vice Treasurer: Maurice Hayes

PRO: Jonathon Lenihan
Assistant PRO: Shaun Cronin

North Cork Board Reps: Richard Burke & Dan Roche

Irish & Cultural Officer: Paudie Fitzgerald

Club Register: Maria Burke

Football Chairman: Neilus O’Reilly
Football Vice Chairman: Davie Sheedy
Football Secretary: Eddie Roche


Best of luck to all officers and managers for the coming year. We wish you all every success in 2019.

The new officers took their position at the top table and as there were no motions, we moved to any other business. The meeting was informed of our intention to complete the purchase of additional field space in the coming months and there was a brief discussion on the football set up for 2019.

Eamonn Fitzgerald was elected as hurling manager for 2019 and Dave Twomey was elected football manager. The newly elected chairman Eddie Fitzgerald then closed the meeting and kindly thanked everyone for attending.

The club offers their condolences to anyone in the club that lost loved ones during the year especially the McGuickin family on the sudden death of our good friend and secretary of our juvenile club Tony a great supporter of Shanballymore GAA.

Ar dheis De go raibh a anam

This entry was posted in Club Reports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s